Skip to main content

A typical weekday: second half of 2021

Written on 12/4/2021 and tagged: typical weekday, life

This is the first entry in a series about what I do during a typical weekday.

I think it’ll be interesting—and nostalgic—to look back at this series, many years from now, to see how my life changes over time.

This series will be tagged “typical weekday”, which will make it easy to follow along.

I wake up at 6:45 am and Sharon and I make coffee, breakfast for the boys, and help get them and ourselves ready for the day.

At 7:30 am, the boys and I head out the door and I drive them to their school; fortunately they go to the same school at the moment, so it’s just one stop for me.

I’m in the office by 8:15 am and I spend 30 - 45 minutes taking care of non-development work such as reading and writing emails, financial status checks, and seeing what’s happening in a few different Slack teams.

Between then and about 11 am I do the real work, which is writing HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, or taking meetings with clients to discuss new or ongoing projects.

At 11 am I’m ready for lunch—the most important part of the day—so I/we usually visit one of the local places for dine-in or take-out.

Depending on the length of lunch, I’m back in the office sometime between 11:30 am and 12:00 pm, and I catch up on any new emails.

After lunch, it’s coffee time, so I go and brew (or buy) that.

I get back to the real work around 11:45 am12:15 pm, depending on how long lunch was.

Around 2 pm, if the weather isn’t terrible, I’ll sometimes take a 15 – 20 minute walk around downtown Beverly with one/both of my coworkers. It’s a nice way to clear my head and, sometimes, it’s when I come up with solutions to coding problems I’m having.

Depending on the length of lunch and the afternoon walk, I’m usually back to the real work again around 2:30 pm, and that continues until I’m done working for the day, which is…

Around 4:45 pm, I wrap up the real work and spend the next 10 or so minutes checking emails again, and looking at the next day’s schedule to make sure there are no surprises.

By 5 pm I’m in my truck and on my way home for dinner.

Around 5:15 pm5:30 pm, I’m sitting down for dinner with my family and we chat about the day, etc.

The time between 6 pm and about 7:15 pm is probably the least consistent time of my day; there’s numerous things I could be doing primarily based on what’s happening with the boys.

Around 7:15 pm, we start introducing the concept of bed time to the boys—it’s a surprise to them every night.

By 7:45 pm we’ve tucked the boys into their beds and Sharon and I are on our own. We’ll generally do one or more of a handful of things:

  • One/both of us may tackle a work-related thing on our computer
  • We’ll watch an episode or two of a show
  • We’ll pick up around the house
  • I’ll play a video game while she does a task she planned to do
  • One of us will go hang out with a friend while the other stays home and does something mentioned above

By 10 pm, maybe 10:30 pm, we’re both ready for bed … which really means we lay in bed and read for a while. Sharon usually reads a book on her phone while I’m doing the same, or reading a physical book, or just perusing the internet.

I personally tend to go lights out and fall asleep between 11:00 pm - 11:30 pm.