Skip to main content

Marc Amos

Hi, I’m Marc

I’m a husband, dad to three boys, and front-end web developer at The Outfit

Learn more about me, check out my journal, or send me an email: marcamos@gmail.com

Elsewhere: GitHub / Twitter

About me

A timeline

  • I was born in the late 1970s and grew up in Salem, Massachusetts
  • In 1996 I graduated from a vocational high school with a C average grade and decent understanding of how to build things with bricks, stones, and cement
  • After graduation, I spent a summer working as a mason’s apprentice and quickly determined I didn’t want to do that for the rest of my life
  • I then attended three different colleges and barely finished one of them; in the end I had an associate’s degree I wouldn’t utilize and about $25,000 of debt
  • I spent a couple of years working in various retail stores, then spent a year driving a truck for a local lumber company; no joke, I loved that job
  • In 2001 I met Sharon and we started dating
  • In 2002 I realized that I needed to do something real, career-wise, and signed up for an evening class on web design and development at UMass Lowell
  • In 2004 I landed my first web development job at a now-defunct financial company
  • In 2005 I landed my second web development job at Net Atlantic
  • In 2006 I landed my third web development job at a now-defunct agency
  • In 2007 Sharon and I married and moved in together
  • In 2008 I quit my job and started Boston Web Studio as well as the Build Guild
  • In 2011 Sharon and I had our first child
  • In 2012 I shut down Boston Web Studio, joined forces with a few friends, and became a Partner at The Outfit where I write a lot of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript
  • In 2013 Sharon and I bought our first/current home
  • In 2014 Sharon and I had our second child, and I stepped down from the Build Guild
  • In 2015 Sharon and I had our third child, and I decided to stop having children
  • Since then, everything’s been great personally and professionally; here’s hoping they stay that way for a long as possible…

Personal interests

  • I love working in our yard; being outdoors and improving our property is incredibly satisfying to me
  • I’ve started to dabble with woodworking and find it to be a fun, alternative way to be creative and build things; unlike web development, I can build something tangible that’s useful to my family
  • I enjoy big-budget, narrative video games; scrolling through bringatrailer.com; most wheat beers; and trying to make the perfect Old Fashioned at home

Professional interests

In my work as a web developer, I’m extremely interested in both performance and accessibility. I take great pride in building a fast website that can be used by all types of people for our clients.

I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t always achieve both, but I try very hard to.

About this website

This website is built with jet , which is a wrapper around Eleventy and Tailwind CSS.